Eau Claire City-County Board of Health
2203
August 24, 2022

Adopting fees for Bed & Breakfast Establishments, Motels-Hotels, and Tourist Rooming Houses.

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 251.04(3) and 97.615(2)(am) provides that the Board of Health of the Eau
Claire City-County Health Department shall have the authority to adopt regulations to protect and improve
public health; and

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 251.04(7) specifically states that such boards take such measures as shall
be effectual for the preservation of the public health; and

WHEREAS the Board of Health of the Eau Claire City-County Health Department did adopt such a
regulation entitled "Lodging Regulation.”

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 66.0628 provides the authority to set and impose fees for services; and

WHEREAS Section 2-0.060A of this regulation provides that the Board of Health shall establish fees for
the permits for these facilities;

THEREFORE, the Eau Claire City-County Board of Health does ordain that the following fees shalil be
required annually for the permits and as specified for reinspections, preinspections, and late fees of the various
types of facilities as defined in the regulation. Such fees shall be reviewed periodically by the Board of Health for
adjustments as needed. All fees shall be payable to the Eau Claire City-County Health Department or to the Eau
Claire City Treasurer for Health Department permits being issued by the City Clerk's office.

1. Permit Fee and Preinspection Fee: The annual, non-returnable and non-prorated fees for bed &
breakfast establishments, hotels, motels, and tourist rooming houses as defined in Section ATCP 72.03,
and ATCP 73.03, Wisconsin Administrative Code shall be as follows:

Tourist Rooming House ' $265 $133

Hotel/Motel: 5-30 sleeping rooms $342 $171
Hotel/Motel: 31-99 sleeping rooms $547 $274
Hotel/Motel: 100-199 sleeping rooms $742 $371
Hotel/Motel: >199 sleeping rooms $927 ’ $464
Bed & Breakfast $366 $183

2. Late Fee: An additional fee of $100 shall be required whenever the annual fee for renewal is not paid
prior to the expiration of the permit, as provided for in section 2-0.060B.1.

3. Insufficient Funds Fee: Fees or payments returned from a financial institution for insufficient funds shall
be subject to a penalty fee of $36 shall be required, as provided for in section 2-0.0608.2.

4. Operators found to be operating without a valid permit shall be subject to a double license fee, as
provided for in section 2-0.060B.3.

5. Reinspection Fee: A fee of $125 shall be required, as provided for in section 2-0.060D.




The total preinspection fee for issuing permits within the same establishment under the operation of

the same person shall be determined by using the largest pre-inspection fee and assessing 75% of the
preinspection fee of any additional permit.

7. Expiration of License: License shall expire on June 30 of each license year.
8. Fees become effective January 1%, 2023.

Adopted by Board of Health on August 24, 2022
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