
Eau Claire City-County Health Department 
21-04 

August 25, 2021 
 
Adopting fees for Body Art Establishments. 
 

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 251.04(3) and 463.16(1) provides that the Board of Health of the Eau Claire 
City-County Health Department shall have the authority to adopt regulations to protect and improve public 
health; and 

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 251.04(7) specifically states that such boards shall take such measures to 
provide an environment in which individuals can be healthy; and 

WHEREAS the Board of Health of the Eau Claire City-County Health Department may adopt such a 
regulation entitled "Body Art Establishment Regulation"; and 

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 66.0628 provides the authority to set and impose fees for services; and 
WHEREAS Section 6-0.070A of this regulation provides that the Board of Health shall establish fees for 

the permits for these facilities; 
 
THEREFORE, the Eau Claire City-County Board of Health does ordain the following fees shall be required 

annually for the permits of the various types of facilities as defined in the regulation. Such fees shall be reviewed 
periodically by the Board of Health for adjustments as needed. All fees shall be payable to the Eau Claire City-
County Health Department or to the Eau Claire City Treasurer for Health Department permits being issued by 
the City Clerk's office. 
 

1. Permit Fee, Preinspection Fee, and Plan Review Fee: The annual, non-returnable and non-prorated fees 
for body art establishments as defined in the Board of Health "Body Art Establishment Regulation” are 
as follows: 

Body Art Practitioners/Establishments 
Health 

Department Fee Plan Review Fee 
Preinspection 

Fee 
Body Art Practitioner's Education Verification Fee $80 

  

Tattoo Facility $359 $180 $180 
Body Piercing Facility $359 $180 $180 
Combined Tattoo and Body Piercing Facility $665 $333 $333 
Temporary Body Art Facility $665 

  

 
 

2. Late Fee: An additional penalty fee of $100 shall be required whenever the annual fee for renewal is not 
paid prior to the expiration of the permit, as provided for in section 6-0.070B. 

 
3. Insufficient Funds Fee: Fees or payments returned from a financial institution for insufficient funds shall 

be subject to a penalty fee of $36 shall be required, as provided for in section 6-0.070B.2. 
 

4. Reinspection Fee: $125 as provided for in section 6-0.070C. 
 

5. Operators found to be operating without a valid permit shall be subject to a double license fee, as 
provided for in section 6-0.070B.3. 



 
6. Expiration of License: License shall expire on June 30 of each license year. 

 
7. Fees become effective January 1st, 2022. 

 
Adopted by Board of Health on August 25, 2021 
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